Country profile

Mongolia Background info

Capital: Ulaan Baatar,

Mongolia's population: 3 million.

Total population of UB: 1,200,000

94% of the population of Mongolia are ethnic Mongols, mainly from the Khalkha clan. About 9% of the ethnic Mongols come from the Durbet, Dariganga, and other clans.

Territory: 1,564, divided into 21 aimags/provinces

State structure: Unitary state administratively divided into 21 aimags /provinces/ and capital city.

The highest point:  Huiten peak, at 4,374 meters (14,350 feet).

The lowest point: Valley of Blue lakes, at 518 meters (1,700 feet)

Mongolian Government: Since 1990, Mongolia has had a multiparty parliamentary democracy. All citizens over the age of 18 can vote.

The head of state: the President; executive power is shared with the Prime Minister.

The legislative body is called the Great Hural, made up of 76 deputies. Mongolia has a civil law system, based on the laws of Russia and continental Europe.

Economy: Based on agriculture livestock breeding and also mining as gold, coal and cooper.

Head of livestock: 31 million

Industry (31% of 2010 GDP, composed of mining 21.8%, manufacturing 6.5%, and utilities (electricity, gas, and water) 2.4%): Types--minerals (primarily copper and gold), animal-derived products, building materials, food/beverage.

Trade: Total turnover of foreign trade for 2010 was $6.1 billion. Exports--$2.9 billion (U.S. dollar (USD) : minerals, livestock, animal products, and textiles.

Language of Mongolia: Khalkha Mongol is the official language of Mongolia, and the primary language of 90% of Mongolians. Others in common use include different dialects of Mongolian, Turkic languages (such as Kazakh, Tuvan and Uzbek), and Russian.

Alphabet: Cyrillic alphabet.

Mongolian Economy: The economy of Mongolia depends upon mineral mining, livestock and animal products, and textiles. Minerals are a primary export, including copper, tin, gold, molybdenum, and tungsten.

The currency: Tugrik; USD are usually accepted for shopping in Ulaanbaatar. But it is much better to carry some cash in countryside. Travelers can change money at any bank of the even in small towns.  $1 US = 2430 tugriks. (2017)

Time zone: +8 hours to GMT

Country code: 976 and area code for Ulaanbaatar is 11

Mongolia flag 

The flag of Mongolia consists of three equal sized vertical stripes - the left and right stripes are red and the middle one is blue. On the left hand side of the Mongolian flag, in the red stripe is the country's national emblem which is a 'soyombo', a columnar arrangement of abstract and geometric representation for fire, sun, moon, earth, water, and the yin-yang symbol. 

Mongolia territory
The total area of the country is 1,564,116 square kilometers and it is the 18th biggest country in the world by the territory. According to the administrations, total area is divided into 21 provinces and capital is named Ulan Bator. 21 provinces are: 
1. Arkhangai                         12. Khovd
2. Bayankhongor                   13. Khцvsgцl
3. Bayan-Цlgii                        14. Orkhon
4. Bulgan                               15. Selenge
5. Darkhan-Uul                      16. Sьkhbaatar
6. Dornod                              17. Tцv
7. Dornogovi                          18. Цmnцgovi
8. Dundgovi                           19. Uvs
9. Govi-Altai                           20. Цvцrkhangai
10. Govisьmber                     21. Zavkhan
11. Khentii 

Mongolia currency


The Mongolian Tughrik is the currency of Mongolia. Our currency rankings show that the most popular Mongolia Tughrik exchange rate is the USD to MNT rate. The currency code for Tugriks is MNT, and the currency symbol is ₮.